Ervin Richardson Elected as SCSBA Region 5 Director


Florence School District Five would like to congratulate Mr. Ervin Richardson for being elected as the Region 5 Director of the South Carolina School Boards Association.

Press Release


Contact:         Becky Bean, Communications Director




Tuesday, December 7, 2021



Ervin Richardson elected as SCSBA Region 5 Director


COLUMBIA – Ervin Richardson, member of the Florence District Five Board of Trustees, was elected as Region 5 Director of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) during the association’s annual Delegate Assembly held Saturday, December 4, in Charleston.


Richardson has been a member of the Florence District Five Board since 2019. He is a Florence Five alumni and a recent graduate from Horry-Georgetown Technical College in Bakery and Pastry Arts. He is very active in his community where he serves on the Board for DDG (Dapper Distinguished Gentlemen) Organization. He is a member of the NAACP and White Chapel Free Will Holiness Church. He also served as Past Master of Kingsburg Lodge 271 and is a member of the Lake City Chapter Shrine.


The association’s annual business meeting, which was held as part of the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state’s 77 school boards. In addition to the election of association officers, delegates adopted resolutions to guide the association during the 2022 legislative session and approved proposed changes to the SCSBA Constitution and Bylaws.


In addition to Richardson, other officers and regional directors elected to lead the association on the board of directors are as follows:


•           President, Jamie Devine, Richland One

•           President-elect, Gail Hughes, Dorchester Two

•           Secretary/Treasurer, Michele Branning, Fort Mill Schools

•           Region 1 Director, Patricia Simmons, Colleton County School District

•           Region 4 Director, Janet Graham, Horry County Schools

•           Region 9 Director, Anne Marie Green, Lexington One

•           Region 13 Director, Robin Owens, Rock Hill Schools


The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and as a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 77 school districts.